Congratulations to the Bioengineering students who received awards at the conclusion of the 2nd annual graduate student symposium.

Teaching Excellence Fellows
Ishita Jain
Dikshant Pradhan
Zachary Quicksall
Jiaojiao Wang
Jake Winter
Yang Zhu
Mohammad Zahid
Sandra Arias

Student Leadership Award
Gelson Pagan Diaz

Best Seminar Series Presentation
Zachary Quicksall

Best Oral Presentation
Mike Gapinske

Best Poster
Jenny (Pin-Chieh) Huang


Welcome to the second-annual Bioengineering Graduate Student Symposium, which showcases the research of our outstanding graduate students. We hope today’s presentations will foster future collaborations among our students and faculty. We will present awards for the best oral and poster presentations, as well as a few other select department-related honors at the conclusion of today’s program.


12:00 p.m.

Welcome remarks

Michael Insana, Donald Biggar Willett Professor and Interim Head
Digital Computer Lab (DCL) atrium

12:15 p.m.

Lunch and poster session

DCL atrium

1:30 p.m.

Oral presentations, Session 1

1320 DCL

1:30 – 1:50 p.m. Cameron Hoerig, Data-driven Elasticity Imaging with Cartesian Neural Network Constitutive Models
1:55 – 2:15 p.m. Sandra Arias, Bactericidal Activity of Nanopatterned Bacterial Cellulose Against E. Coli
2:20 – 2:40 p.m.. Michael Gapinske, Permanent Control of Alternative Splicing with CRISPR Base Editing
2:45 – 3:05 p.m. Jenny (Jungeun) Won, Middle Ear Imaging Using Optical Coherence Tomography Correlated with Hearing Assessments during Otitis Media
3:10 p.m.


3:30 p.m.

Oral presentations, Session 2

1320 DCL

3:30 – 3:50 p.m. Lauren Grant, Cryopreservation and Revival of Tissue Engineered Skeletal Muscle
3:55 – 4:15 p.m. Lucas Smith, Expanding the Dynamic Range of Fluorescence Assays through Single-Molecule Counting and Intensity Calibration
4:20 – 4:40 p.m. Veronika Dubinkina, Microbial Community Assembly Rules Emergent from the Stable Marriage Problem
4:45 – 5:05 p.m. Yi Zhang, Integrative Genomic Analysis Discovers the Causative Regulatory Mechanisms of Breast Cancer- Associated Genetic Variants
5:15 p.m.

Awards ceremony and closing remarks

Michael Insana, Donald Biggar Willett Professor and Interim Head
1320 DCL

The 2nd Annual Graduate Student Symposium was organized by the GradBMES committee:

  • Gelson Pagan Diaz, chair
  • Mark Gryka, member
  • Lauren Grant, outreach chair
  • Karla Ramos Cruz, social chair
  • Cameron Hoerig, treasurer
  • Karin Jensen, GradBMES faculty advisor
  • Krista Smith, GradBMES staff advisor
  • Ali Ansari, member
  • Yanfen Li, chairs’ advisor
  • Tanmay Ghonge, member
  • Yi Wen, secretary

Special thanks to Facilities + Services, Engineering IT, and the Bioengineering Department staff for supporting this symposium.